Let’s say that in SharePoint, you want to use the Contribute permission level, but you don’t really want the users who have that permission level to be able to delete anything. It sounds harder than it really is.

  1. Just go to Site Actions/Site Permissions (which is under Users and Permissions)
  2. On the ribbon, click the ‘Permission Levels’ button.
  3. Click on the Permission Level you want to customize (like ‘Contribute’)
  4. Here, you can see that ‘Delete Items’ is a checkbox that is already selected – all you need to do is un-select it and click ‘Submit’. You can also add or remove any other items while you’re there.